SpreadServe AMI part I

January 16, 2017

Recently I’ve been working on building an EC2 AMI for SpreadServe, so deployment becomes a one click operation for Amazon AWS users. I ran into an interesting snag so I thought I’d capture it here. My aim was to deploy SpreadServe as a Windows Service on an AWS Windows Server 2012 R2 image, so I used pywin32‘s excellent win32service module. Here’s my github boilerplate project for a Windows Service in Python. On my AWS host my SpreadServe Windows Service was failing to start, and leaving no trace in the system or application event logs. pywin32service has a debug mode; when I tried that I got a Windows 0xc00007b error, which indicates a mix of 32 and 64 bit binaries. SpreadServe is 32 bit all the way, so something was wrong. I turned to procmon to try and figure what was failing. procmon showed that my 32 bit pythonservice.exe was loading a 64 bit python27.dll, instead of the 32 bit python27.dll that’s part of the SpreadServe install tree. The 64 bit DLL was coming from the C:\Program Files\Amazon\cfn-bootstrap directory, which is added to the standard Windows 2012 R2 image by Amazon to support CloudFormation, and is on the system path. After much experimenting I couldn’t find a way to stop Windows Service Host from using the system path, so I had to change it to replace cfn-bootstrap with SpreadServe directories. Problem solved…

Leave a Reply

