tornado & websockets

April 26, 2014

The core of my POC prototype is a server engine, which doesn’t really make for a great demo. Generally, people grasp concepts quicker if they can see a tangible realization. So I needed a realistic way to show live ticking data getting cranked out by the server. A browser GUI seemed a natural candidate. And being a Pythonista I wanted to do the server coding in Python. Until recently getting live ticking data pushed up to a browser was a big deal, requiring sophisticated server products like the Caplin Liberator, and rich GUI toolkits like Caplin Trader. Fortunately, it’s now possible to hack some demoware in the form of a live, ticking webpage using some really simple jQuery & websockets in the browser, and tornado on the server side. JavaScript and browser GUIs are not my forte, so I won’t comment any further, except to note how much easier it seems than five years ago. On the server side, though, I do have more experience. Back in 2000 I was doing server side web dev in Python using Zope. Zope is a very powerful system, featuring a built in Object DB and an inheritance by instance rather than class mechanism called acquisition. Consequently it has a rather steep learning curve. In recent years Plone has had some traction as a CMS built on top of Zope. In 2001/2 I discovered Twisted Matrix, a general networking toolkit you can use to build any IP based networking functionality. Again there’s a steep learning curve, but it’s much lighter than Zope, and is now very mature. I will be using Twisted to build a general socket server capability for my core product: I’ve got C++ and Python APIs, but I’ll need a socket server for Java support. But what I needed for my demo purpose was real time server push to the browser. And tornado proved to be a good choice. Simple, lightweight, lots of worked examples and focused entirely on websockets. It didn’t take long to get ticking data into a webpage. Recommended!

One Response to “tornado & websockets”


  1. […] in April I posted on my use of tornado for real time push up to a browser client using websockets. Then I was building a proof of concept. […]

Leave a Reply

