Don’t be a dick for a tick !

February 26, 2009

I’m coming to the end of Drobny‘s House of Money, and remain enthusiastic about it. The interviews with various fund managers are uniformly good, and yield some excellent insights. One example: David Gorton of LDFM on screwing up a spread trade on Greek T bills vs floaters that were paying T bills + 100 beeps, which amounted to a free 100 bps. The trade was buy the floater, sell the T bill, thereby locking in a 100bps. Problem: they couldn’t repo the T bill to execute the sell, so they had to implement the trade in the forward drachma market, which is illiquid. Gorton took one month contracts because the spread on the one year was wide. Then the  Greek treasury raised interest rates from 7% to 100% when Gorton was rolling his finance for the short leg from one month to the next, wiping out the trade. If he’d just paid the spread on the one year contract he could have had 97 out of the 100bps. But he went chasing the last 3 bps and got caught out. So don’t be a dick for a tick !

There’s plenty more similar stuff on money management, leverage, implementation (cash vs options vs futures) and strategy from Peter Thiel of Clarium, Yra Harris of Praxis, Dwight Anderson, Scott Bessent and others. Thiel is intriguing as he was a PayPal founder before starting a hedge fund to manage his own money. All in all, strongly recommended.

34 Responses to “Don’t be a dick for a tick !”

  1. Nousheen Says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Start Getting Paychecks For Easy Work That Fits Your Schedule, No Experience Required.


  2. Pretty wonderful article, definitely useful stuff. Never ever imagined I’d obtain the tips I need in this article. I’ve been hunting throughout the net for a while now and had been starting to get frustrated. Luckily, I stumbled onto your page and received precisely what I had been looking for.

  3. site Says:

    really valuable stuff, all round I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, thanks


  4. surprisingly helpful material, on the whole I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

  5. tom murray Says:

    Brilliant, thank you, I will bookmark you soon.

  6. account Says:

    When I start your Feed it appears to be to be a ton of nonsense, is the problem on my side?


  7. Hello, I just hopped over to your website through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might typically read, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for making something worthy of reading.


  8. A lot of of the comments on this blog site dont make sense.


  9. I believe that one of your ads initiated my web browser to resize, you might well want to set that on your blacklist.


  10. A insightful post right there mate ! Thank you for posting !

  11. buy leather wallets Says:

    While I actually like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error near towards the end with the 3rd section.


  12. As soon as I at first left a comment I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a comment is added I get four email messages with the identical comment.


  13. I have got one idea for your web site. It looks like right now there are a few cascading stylesheet issues while launching a number of web pages within google chrome as well as safari. It is operating okay in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.


  14. Almost all of the commentary on this particular web site dont make sense.


  15. This is really a fantastic blog, would you be interested in doing an interview about just how you created it? If so e-mail myself!


  16. Jesus Christ theres a great deal of spammy feedback on this website. Have you at any time thought about trying to remove them or putting in a extension?


  17. How come you dont have your web site viewable in wap format? cant view anything in my phone.


  18. Whilst I truly like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error shut to the finish from the 3rd sentence.

  19. like i said Says:

    I tried viewing your web site in my ipod touch and the structure does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your web page.


  20. I tried taking a look at your web site on my mobile phone and the layout doesnt seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not really working with your web site.


  21. fairly beneficial material, on the whole I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks


  22. Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy comments on this page. Have you ever believed about attempting to eliminate them or installing a extension?

  23. this month Says:

    I tried looking at your site with my ipod touch and the page layout does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not working with your web site.


  24. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed isnt working today. I tried including it to my Bing reader account and got nothing.


  25. Jesus Christ theres a lot of spammy comments on this page. Have you actually thought about trying to get rid of them or putting in a plugin?


  26. Oh man! This blog site is awesome! How do you make it look this good .


  27. This is often a excellent weblog, could you be interested in working on an interview regarding just how you developed it? If so e-mail myself!


  28. As soon as I initially commented I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a remark is added I get 4 messages with the identical comment.


  29. When I originally left a comment I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a comment is added I get four messages with the identical comment.


  30. Great Stuff, do you currently have a twitter profile?

  31. next Says:

    Re: Whomever made the comment that this was an excellent web site actually needs to have their brain reviewed.


  32. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?

    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can
    advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  33. Robt Says:

    This is the 3rd post, of your site I checked out. Nevertheless I
    like this particular 1, “Dont be a dick for a
    tick ! | Coding the markets” the very best. Thank you -Julienne

Leave a Reply

