Xmas reading

December 1, 2008

Christmas is coming, and I’ve been figuring out my reading list for the break. I’ve pulled my old copy of Godel, Escher, Bach off the shelf, and have started the first re-read for 20 years. A couple of things hit me right off the bat: how could I have missed the GEB/EGB (Godel,Escher,Bach/Eternal Golden Braid) sequencing pun ?  And it seems obvious that GEB is a big influence on briarpig‘s style. I’m also looking forward to reading Hasbrouck‘s Empirical Market Microstructure. Looks like a natural successor to Harris’ Trading and Exchanges.
Thought for the day: to be is to be the value of a bound variable.

One Response to “Xmas reading”

  1. Ian Kaplan Says:

    I took a look at BriarPig’s web site, now moved to ythorn. I’m not so sure that Godel, Escher and Bach influenced his style. It seems to me that Hoffsteader is much more modest and less self centered than Rys.

Leave a Reply

