Learning JavaScript

August 13, 2008

So since I’m building with Caplin, I’m learning JavaScript for Caplin Trader based UI implementation. I’ve been a Python coder since 2000, so I’ve long made the shift from C++/Java/C# style static type checking to dynamic type checking and a syntax that is free of type declarations. Which is a big shift in coding mind set. For me the big difference in JavaScript is prototype based inheritance.

Another major difference is debugging. If you run your JavaScript in IE, you can debug in Visual Studio. If you favour Firefox, then Firebug is the way to go. Getting the IE/VisualStudio debugging proved too much of a struggle for me, so I’ve settled on Firefox 2.0.0.16 with Firebug 1.0.5, which seems to be working well for me.

Leave a Reply

