Teaching the kids to code

October 11, 2007

I’ve had a couple of attempts at teaching our two sons to program. I’ve tried pygame and squeak, but neither has triggered that obsessional, can’t prise fingers away from keyboard quality. Tonight I had another go, using scratch from MIT. It’s a marvellous visual programming environment, with a very low barrier to entry. Both the lads were hooked instantly. Strongly recommended as a first dev env. I think I might try coding up some program trading algorithms in it 😉

2 Responses to “Teaching the kids to code”

  1. Rob Says:

    I tried last night with my daughter (10 years old) with phrogram. She was hooked. I’ll have a look at scratch.

  2. etrading Says:

    Phrogram looks like a traditional textual programming language with an IDE, whereas Scratch is totally visual. Do let us know how you get on…

Leave a Reply

